Greater Burke

 Public Information Statement  Statement as of 3:05 PM EDT on October 22, 2014

... Tornado confirmed near 5 southwest Landrum in Greenville
County South Carolina...

Location... 5 southwest Landrum in Greenville County South
date... 10/14/2014
estimated time... 8 PM EDT
maximum ef-scale rating... EF-0
estimated maximum wind speed... 75-80 mph
maximum path width... 50 yards
yards path length... nine tenths of a mile
beginning lat/Lon... 35.11n ending lat/Lon... 82.24w
* fatalities... 0
* injuries... 0

* the information in this statement is preliminary and subject to
change pending final review of the event(s) and publication in
NWS storm data.

... Summary...
the National Weather Service in Greenville-Spartanburg SC has
confirmed a tornado near 5 southwest Landrum in Greenville County
South Carolina on 10/14/2014.

A brief..weak tornado with a narrow discontinous path of primarily
tree damage was surveyed in northern Greenville County South
Carolina. The tornado initially touchdown near the intersection
of Highway 11 and Tugaloo Road. The tornado uprooted several
trees and snapped off a few softwood trees. The tornado continued
to the northeast where it touched down again along good Road.
Several trees were blown down and a shed roof was blown off.

This information can also be found on our website at

For reference... the Enhanced Fujita scale classifies tornadoes
into the following categories:

EF0... wind speeds 65 to 85 mph.
EF1... wind speeds 86 to 110 mph.
EF2... wind speeds 111 to 135 mph.
EF3... wind speeds 136 to 165 mph.
EF4... wind speeds 166 to 200 mph.
EF5... wind speeds greater than 200 mph.

Powered by the Weather Underground, Inc.